Worship is a time set apart for the seminary community to turn our whole attention toward God as we continue to seek to cultivate a love for scholarship, piety, and justice.

At Memphis Theological Seminary we worship in the classroom, the hallways, and in the sacred space of our chapel.

Christian worship in an ecumenical setting is especially about love. We are called to be open, patient and generous as we strive to find ways of worshiping together, share the best of our own traditions, learn about other people’s traditions, and discern the patterns that we hold and create in common.

We live-stream each of our chapel services on Zoom.


We have two different services held online during the regular semesters lasting about a half hour to an hour:

  • Regular chapel services are held on Tuesdays at 11:15 am and last about half an hour to an hour.
  • Chapel services for the hybrid course schedule are held on Fridays at 11:15 am during course intensives. For Fall 2020, these dates are: September 25, October 30, and December 4.

We are grateful to have our Introduction to the Theology and Practice of Worship students coordinating our chapel services.

You may join the Zoom meeting for the regular Tuesday chapel service by clicking here and for the hybrid chapel services on particular Fridays by clicking here. You will be placed in a “waiting room” until the service begins. Please be sure to keep your microphone on mute.

If you have any problems using Zoom, you may want to consult the Zoom Help Center.

Recordings of chapel services are available below.

If you have any questions about chapel, please contact Nathan Brasfield at nbrasfield@memphisseminary.edu

Fall 2020 Chapel Service Recordings

September 1 (Fall Convocation): Dr. Jody Hill, President

September 8: Dr. Peter Gathje, Vice President of Academic Affairs & Academic Dean

September 15: Dr. Mitzi Minor, Mary Magdalene Professor of New Testament

September 22: Dr. Earle Fisher

September 24: Dr. Chris Davis, Associate Professor of Preaching and Pastoral Ministry and Associate Dean of Doctoral Studies

September 29: Dr. Stacy Dandridge (MDiv ’12)

October 6: Dr. Janel Bakker, Associate Professor of Mission, Evangelism, and Culture

October 13: Rev. Billy Vaughan 

October 20: Rev. Johan Daza

October 27: Rev. Walter Henry, Enrollment Services Assistant

November 3: Dr. Jody Hill, President 

November 10: Rev. Dr. Ronald M. Powe (MDiv ’94)

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

* indicates required