MTS

Faculty

Devoted to

Scholarship, Piety and Justice

Susan Parker, Ph.D.

Interim President
sparker@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5809

Janel Kragt Bakker, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mission, Evangelism and Culture
jbakker@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5852

Carmichael D. Crutchfield, D.Min., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Christian Education, Spiritual Formation, and Youth Ministry
ccrutchfield@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5842

Christopher Davis, D.Min.

Associate Professor of Preaching and Pastoral Ministry / Dean of Doctoral Studies
cdavis@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5831

Peter Gathje, Ph.D.

Professor of Christian Ethics / Vice President of Academic Affairs and Academic Dean
pgathje@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5832

Martha Lyle Ford

Co-Director, Center for Faith and Imagination
mlford@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5856

Mary Lin Hudson, Ph.D.

Professor of Homiletics and Liturgics / Associate Dean of Academic Assessment and Advising
mlhudson@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5851

Mitzi L. Minor, Ph.D.

Mary Magdalene Professor of New Testament
mminor@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5849

Courtney Pace, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Church History
cpace@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5817

G. Lee Ramsey, Jr., Ph.D.

Marlon and Sheila Foster Professor of Pastoral Theology and Homiletics
lramsey@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5844

Hilary Jerome Scarsella, Ph.D.

Visiting Assistant Professor of Theology & Ethics
hjscarsella@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5803

Deborah Taylor, Ed.D.

Assistant Professor of Theological Bibliography / Director of Library Services 
dmtaylor@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5814

Michael K. Turner, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of the History of Christianity and Wesleyan Studies / Director of the Methodist House of Studies  
mturner@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5843

William M. Vaughan III

Co-Director, Center for Faith and Imagination
bvaughan@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5864

Andrew Zirschky, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practical Theology & Youth Ministry
azirschky@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5895

Faculty Emeriti

Clinton O. Buck
Professor Emeritus of Educational Ministry

Paul R. Dekar
Professor Emeritus of Evangelism and Mission

Jay Earheart-Brown
Professor Emeritus of Theology

Barbara A. Holmes
Professor Emeritus of Ethics and African American Studies

Waldo E. Knickerbocker
Professor Emeritus of Church History

Matt Mathews
Professor Emeritus of Theology

V. Steven Parrish
Professor Emeritus of Old Testament

Robert Stanley Wood
Professor Emeritus of Church and Ministry

CHOOSE MTS
see what they say
Memphis Theological Seminary, located in Memphis,TN, offers a first-rate seminary education and experience. The ability to dialogue with some many different Christian faith traditions, the ability to learn about the mission of the gospel in the pursuit of justice in our world, and the ability to provide such education and training at an affordable rate make Memphis Theological Seminary a high-quality seminary today. 

Daniel Pigg

I spent 7 years going part time and working my day job to complete graduation in 2004. I enjoyed the friends I gained and the grace and knowledge in the education.

Wyvonia Woods Harris

MTS is one of the best things that could have happened to me. Going through their PAS program was an amazing experience and blessing.

Andrew Ward