Career Development

The Office of Student Services provides assistance to students seeking employment relevant to their degrees. This is done by offering vocational counseling and other resources for students exploring their career development and planning, self-assessment, occupational research and decision making, gaining experience and credentials, job research skills and processes, and overall career management. Students are encouraged to take advantages of this assistance as they are looking for a place to live out God’s call in the world after graduation.

Vocational counseling:

Students are encouraged to meet with Dr. Barry Anderson, Director of Student Services, for individual vocational counseling. Please email Dr. Anderson at banderson@memphisseminary.edu to schedule an appointment.

We can support you in your job search by helping you to create a resume and cover letter that accurately reflect your skills and experiences while allowing a potential employer to see how you could be a valuable asset to their organization.

Optimal Resume

Optimal Resume is our free online career building service, connects you with prospective employers and helps you find internships and jobs in ministry, nonprofit and marketplace organizations.

N

Create a résumé utilizing several design options.

N

Create professional letters.

N

Establish an attractive online portfolio.

N

Practice real life interviewing through video simulations.

N

Build a fully customizable personal career website emphasizing your strengths and experiences.

Online Resources

Assessment tools
Career Key (www.careerkey.org)
Job Hunter’s Bible (www.jobhuntersbible.com)

Career resources
American Association of Pastoral Counselors (www.aapc.org)
Association of Professional Chaplains (www.professionalchaplains.org)
Health Ministries Association (www.hmacofchrist.org/Index-HMA/index.php)
Military Chaplaincy (www.goarmy.com/chaplain.html)
National Institute of Business and Industrial Chaplains (www.nibic.com)

Job search resources
Christian Career Center (www.christiancareercenter.com)
Christian Century classifieds (www.christiancentury.org/classifieds)
Idealist (www.idealist.org/)
Jobs2Careers (www.jobs2careers.com)
JobStar (www.jobstar.org/index.php)
Ministry Search (www.ministrysearch.com/view.shtml)
Non Profit Career Match (www.careermatch.nptimes.com/jobs)
Youth Specialties Job Bank (www.jobbank.youthspecialties.com)

Relocation
Place Comparison (www.bestplaces.net)
Salary Comparison (www.salary.com)