MTS

Faculty

Devoted to

Scholarship, Piety and Justice

Daniel J. Earheart-Brown

President, Professor of Theology
jebrown@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5809

Janel Kragt Bakker

Assistant Professor of Mission, Evangelism and Culture
jbakker@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5852

Carmichael D. Crutchfield

Associate Professor of Christian Education, Spiritual Formation, and Youth Ministry and Associate Director of the Methodist House of Studies
ccrutchfield@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5842

Christopher Davis

Associate Professor of Preaching and Pastoral Ministry / Dean of Doctoral Studies
cdavis@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5831

Peter Gathje

Vice President of Academic Affairs / Dean and Professor of Christian Ethics
pgathje@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5832

Mary Lin Hudson

Professor of Homiletics and Liturgics / Associate Dean of Academic Assessment and Advising
mlhudson@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5851

John T. Kilzer

Director of the Center for Recovery Ministry
jkilzer@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5847

Matt T. Mathews

Professor of Theology
mmathews@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5848

Paula L. McGee

Assistant Professor of African American Church Studies
pmcgee@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5856

Mitzi L. Minor

Mary Magdalene Professor of New Testament
mminor@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5849

Oluwatomisin Oredein

Visiting Assistant Professor of Christian Theology and Ethics
ooredein@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5830

Courtney Pace

Assistant Professor of Church History
cpace@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5817

V. Steven Parrish

Professor of Old Testament
sparrish@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5850

G. Lee Ramsey, Jr.

Marlon and Sheila Foster Professor of Pastoral Theology and Homiletics and Associate Director of the Methodist House of Studies
lramsey@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5844

Deborah Taylor

Director of Library Services 
dmtaylor@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5815

Michael K. Turner

Associate Professor of the History of Christianity and Wesleyan Studies and Director of the Methodist House of Studies  
mturner@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5843

William M. Vaughan III

Director of the Formation for Ministry Program
bvaughan@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5864

Andrew Zirschky

Assistant Professor of Practical Theology & Youth Ministry
azirschky@memphisseminary.edu
901.334.5895

FACULTY EMERITI

Clinton O. Buck
Professor Emeritus of Educational Ministry

Paul R. Dekar
Professor Emeritus of Evangelism and Mission

Barbara A. Holmes
Professor Emeritus of Ethics and African American Studies

Waldo E. Knickerbocker
Professor Emeritus of Church History

Robert Stanley Wood
Professor Emeritus of Church and Ministry

CHOOSE MTS

see what they say

Memphis Theological Seminary, located in Memphis,TN, offers a first-rate seminary education and experience. The ability to dialogue with some many different Christian faith traditions, the ability to learn about the mission of the gospel in the pursuit of justice in our world, and the ability to provide such education and training at an affordable rate make Memphis Theological Seminary a high-quality seminary today. 

Daniel Pigg

I spent 7 years going part time and working my day job to complete graduation in 2004. I enjoyed the friends I gained and the grace and knowledge in the education.

Wyvonia Woods Harris

MTS is one of the best things that could have happened to me. Going through their PAS program was an amazing experience and blessing.

Andrew Ward